Skip to content
WikiSchoolsFind
Menu

Schools covered in Bengaluru

Karnataka. This directory covers 3 districts in the current WikiSchools city rollout.

City coverage follows the UDISE+ administrative districts listed below. Those boundaries may extend beyond the area people commonly describe as Bengaluru, so each school profile shows its recorded district and locality.

888
Schools listed
3
Districts covered
31 per teacher
Listed-school median
71%
Urban share

What the listed data shows

WikiSchools currently publishes 888 qualifying school profiles for Bengaluru. Together, their annual records report 5,39,189 students and 18,161 teachers. Among profiles with usable staffing figures, the median is 31 students per teacher and the average is 35.

The source classifies 633 listed schools as urban and 255 as rural. Secondary-board information is present for 712 profiles; an unreported board often means that the school does not offer secondary classes, so it should not automatically be treated as missing information.

Management

Government-run
117 (13%)
Private unaided
707 (80%)
Government aided
64 (7%)
Other management
0 (0%)

Government-aided schools stay separate because the source treats them as a distinct management type.

Location category

Urban
633 (71%)
Rural
255 (29%)
Other / not reported
0 (0%)

These are UDISE+ administrative categories, not WikiSchools judgements about the surrounding neighbourhood.

Secondary board

State Board
515 (58%)
CBSE
114 (13%)
ICSE
78 (9%)
International or other
5 (1%)
Not reported / not applicable
176 (20%)

Board data applies to secondary and higher-secondary sections and is not expected for every profile.

Districts covered

Ranked lists for Bengaluru

Each list orders the schools listed here by one number reported to UDISE+. They are not “best school” lists — WikiSchools does not rate schools.

Largest schools in the covered districts

A useful starting point, ordered by reported enrolment. Filters apply to these 24 displayed schools.

Filter the schools shown

Showing 24 of 24

Source: UDISE+, 2023–24 returns, Ministry of Education, Government of India.